EC Members


President Smt Vidyaben Shah on a Field Visit

Smt. Vidyaben Shah, President is a veteran Gandhian social worker and freedom fighter. At a young age when she was a university student she participated in the Quit India Movement under the guidance of Mahatma Gandhi. She has served as Chairperson of the Central Social Welfare Board. Keenly interested in the development of women and children in particular, she has also served as the President of the Indian Council for Child Welfare for two consecutive terms. She has also been an institution builder and has been responsible for setting up the Triveni Kala Sangam, the Sardar Patel Vidyalaya and the Bharatiya Vidya Bhawan in Delhi.

Ms. Nivedita Banerji, Secretary is Co-Founder of Samaj Pragati Sahayog

Shri. Pramathesh Ambasta, Treasurer is Co-Founder of Samaj Pragati Sahayog


Dr. Shankar Mukherji

Dr. Shankar Mukherji, Member is a renowned Physicist and Professor Emeritus (retd), Department of Physics, Banaras Hindu University. He has been associated as an expert with the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, the Nuclrear Planning Committe of DST, the Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics and the Variable Energy and Fibretonics Centre. Deeply interested in social issues, he is the Chief Patron of the Welfare Society for the Deaf and Retarded Children amd is also associated with several schools for poor children in Bengal


Dr. Mary John with Nivedita Banerji

Dr. Mary John is an Eminent Sociologist and Director, Centre for Women’s Development Studies. She is a scholar of women’s issues and pushes the work of SPS towards greater gender inclusion


Dr. Ram Guha and Dr. Sriram Ramaswamy at the Neemkheda Dam

Dr. Ramachandra Guha is a renowned Historian, social commentator and author of several books including India After Gandhi. He was honoured with the Padma Bhushan in 2009.

Dr. Rammanohar Reddy is an Economist and Editor of the Economic and Political Weekly. He was formerly Assistant Editor of The Hindu and has been closely associated with the work of SPS since its inception.

Dr.Sriram Ramaswamy is a renowned Physicist and recipient of Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar Award. He is currently Professor, Department of Physics at the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and has guided the work of SPS since its early days


Dr. Rammanohar Reddy and Dr. Sriram Ramaswamy at Kumbaya

Arvind Sardana and Narender Kande

Shri. Arvind Sardana is an educationist and social worker, who is currently Director of the Eklavya Institute, Bhopal. He has been associated with Eklavya over the last two decades and has guided its education work. He has also been closely associated with SPS since it started in 1990.

Shri Narender Kande is an expert on Microfinance and Livelihoods with nearly two decades experience in his area of expertise, setting up people’s institutions, women’s federations and ensuring their convergence with livelihoods. He is currently located in Hyderabad


Mekhala Krishnamurthy with Rangu Rao

Mekhala Krishnamurthy is a Visiting Dissertation Research Fellow (2010-2011) at the Centre for the Advanced Study of India, University of Pennsylvania, USA and is currently completing a Ph.D. in Anthropology from University College London. Her association with SPS dates from the18 months of her fieldwork for a doctoral dissertation focused on Harda, a mandi town in Madhya Pradesh, close to Bagli. Ever since then she has become actively involved in the work of SPS, providing inputs to many of our programmes, training SPS staff and raising funds for the organisation. From 2003-2007, Mekhala worked at the Social Initiatives Group at ICICI Bank where she coordinated the Group’s Health Practice dedicated to securing sustainable improvements in the health and nutritional status of women and young children in the poorest regions of the country..